What I love about being Jewish: Hachi – by Michael T. Pullen

Being different and special.

I do not like being the same. I have never liked it as far as I remember.

I knew a guy in college, a Brit, who’s self-described goal was to be average, to never stick out. Mind you he would go out at night in New England wearing an ascot – as if that would not make a straight guy stick out.

Judaism has something unique and special and I participate in it. I do it. It is nice to have that connection. It is fabulous that Judaism is influential but is not the mainstream. I like that. Judaism is meaning-full, that is only something that can be done when it is unique and not the same.

Why be like everyone else? There are plenty of them already.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑